The best Attentive alternative is Nitrosend if you want an AI agent running both the email and SMS side of the account, since that is the direction this whole category is moving. Among the traditional dashboard-driven options, Klaviyo fits when email and SMS should share one customer profile, Postscript when the store is on Shopify and texting is the main channel, and Omnisend when the budget is tight and you need email, SMS and web push.
Most people arrive here because they wanted a monthly number before a sales call and could not get one.
The short version
By job: Klaviyo for email and SMS on one profile, on a published entry Email plus SMS plan of $35 a month. Postscript for Shopify-led texting, where the per-message rate and the platform fee are both on the page. Omnisend for the smallest bill that still covers email, SMS and web push. Twilio if you have engineers and want carrier-level pricing with no platform on top. Nitrosend if email is your revenue channel and SMS is a step inside the same flow. SimpleTexting for a business that texts but does not sell online. Braze if you are going enterprise omnichannel anyway, though it publishes no price either.
Why people leave Attentive
The complaint is not the product. It is that you cannot price it.
Attentive's pricing page tells you what the price depends on rather than what it is: the number of messages you send, the size of your subscriber list, the number of channels you use, and the premium AI tools you need. The three channel packages, text only, text and email, and the SMS plus email plus RCS plus push bundle, all say pricing based on list size and messages sent. The full suite is custom pricing. The FAQ says the model is usage-based, so you only pay for what you actually use, with no credit system. There is no free plan and the trial length is not stated. All read on 7 September 2026.
Here is the part that makes the pricing question sharp rather than merely annoying. Attentive does publish per-message numbers, in detail, at attentive.com/legal/carrier-delivery-fees. Current as of 1 September 2026, US carrier delivery fees for a sent SMS are $0.0035 on AT&T, $0.0045 on T-Mobile and Sprint, $0.0045 on Verizon and $0.0045 on US Cellular, rising to $0.0050 for US Cellular on 10DLC. Sent MMS runs $0.007 to $0.010. Canada toll-free fees were updated on 1 November 2025 and are billed in USD.
Those are pass-through fees. The page says so: they are charged in addition to the fees for SMS and MMS message segments set out in your Attentive order form. So the vendor publishes, to four decimal places, the part of your bill that goes to the carrier, and publishes nothing about the part that goes to Attentive. You cannot compute what 100,000 messages costs from anything on the site.
I know why that number matters because it cuts against us too. Nick, who handles our support and deliverability questions, priced SMS for Nitrosend and came back with an uncomfortable conclusion: margins are very slim, competition is fierce, and his recommendation was not to try to make a margin on SMS at all. His reasoning was commercial, not noble. Quote a store a higher cost per message than it already gets and it takes the whole deal elsewhere, including the email side, which is the part that earns. He proposed selling SMS at cost to enterprise email customers and taking margin only on smaller plans, and was clear that you almost have to run at zero margin for a couple of years to build the volume that earns better carrier rates in the first place.
That is the economics under every vendor on this page. Everybody pays similar carrier fees. The difference between them is whether they tell you their own markup. Attentive does not.
The public record says the same thing in reviewers' words. G2 rates Attentive 4.5 out of 5 across 1,486 reviews, which is a strong product score, and G2's own summary of that corpus states that users find the pricing expensive, particularly for smaller brands managing growing lists. A moderator in an r/shopify apps thread, comparing SMS vendors, wrote that Attentive was significantly more expensive than the Klaviyo and Yotpo SMS add-ons. That thread is undated in what we captured, so treat it as a data point without a year.
Here is what we could not verify, and I would rather write it down than leave it implied. The figure repeated across half the internet, a $5,000 monthly minimum plus a revenue share, traces back to a page that now returns a 404. We could not confirm it, so we do not state it. We also could not confirm contract length, auto-renewal or cancellation terms, because the terms-of-service URL on attentive.com returned a 404 when we checked. If you read elsewhere that Attentive is impossible to cancel, we went looking for a dated, verifiable account of that and did not find one.
And the fair counterpoint: Attentive is one of the strongest SMS products in the market, founded in 2016, with deep list-growth tooling, and it ships a first-party MCP server, currently marked beta, so an agent can pull reporting and manage campaigns. If SMS is your main revenue channel and you have the volume to negotiate, the demo-only pricing is a procurement inconvenience rather than a reason to leave.
How they compare
Scores are out of 10 against criteria whose weights add to 100. They are published in full at the bottom of this page, so you can disagree with a weight and re-rank the table yourself.
Every price below was read from the vendor's own pricing page on 7 September 2026 and each one moves. Carrier fees change independently of platform rates, so treat both as moving parts.
We make Nitrosend. It is third here rather than first, because Attentive and Klaviyo are e-commerce messaging platforms with on-site popups and browse-abandonment tracking, and we have neither.
Attentive alternatives compared
Checked| Platform | Rank | Best for | Pricing model | Free tier | From | At 10k contacts | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nitrosend Agent-native | 1 | Email-led | per send | 8,000 emails to start, then 500 a month | $20/mo | n/a | 8.6 |
| Klaviyo | 2 | Email plus SMS | per contact | 250 active profiles, 500 email sends a month, 150 SMS/MMS credits | $20/mo | n/a | 8.2 |
| Postscript | 3 | Shopify SMS | hybrid | 30-day free trial on the Starter plan, after which a $49 monthly minimum spend applies (Starter has a $0 platform fee) | $49/mo | $90/mo (Starter usage: 10,000 SMS x $0.009 = $90 messaging fees, excluding carrier fees (derived from the published per-message rate)) | 7.8 |
| Omnisend | 4 | Budget multichannel | per contact | 250 contacts, 500 emails a month | $16/mo | $132/mo (Standard) | 7.2 |
| Twilio | 5 | Wholesale transport | usage | 30-day free trial with product-specific free units: 100 SMS messages, 100 WhatsApp messages, 75 voice minutes, 3,000 emails. No credit card required. A fresh set of free units (100 SMS etc.) is granted on upgrade. | $0.0083 | $83/mo (Pay-as-you-go: 10,000 US long-code SMS segments x $0.0083 = $83 base, before carrier fees (~$35-$50 extra at $0.0035-$0.005/segment) and the $1.15/mo number) | 7.2 |
| Braze | 6 | Enterprise omnichannel | hybrid | 14-day free trial (try.braze.com). Pricing page FAQ: 'Braze does not offer a free plan at this time. Companies can still explore the platform through trials, startup programs, and other tailored entry plans.' | Contact sales | n/a | 6.7 |
| SimpleTexting | 7 | Business texting | per send | Free trial, no credit card required (trial length not stated on the pricing page); 30-day money-back guarantee on paid plans | $39/mo | $399/mo (15,000 credits (monthly, before the $10 local-number add-on)) | 6.3 |
1. Klaviyo
Best for: stores that want email and SMS driven off one customer profile, with a rate they can read.
Klaviyo is the answer for most people leaving Attentive, because the reason a lot of teams bought a dedicated SMS tool was that their email platform could not text, and Klaviyo can. One profile, one set of flows, one attribution model across both channels.
On the SMS rate itself, be careful what you treat as published. Klaviyo's pricing page carries plan prices, not a per-message SMS table, and the figures below are Nitrosend's own internal reading rather than a rate Klaviyo publishes. When Nick priced SMS for us he stepped through Klaviyo's US SMS slider and wrote down $0.011 per message below 1,100 a month, $0.010 from 1,100 to 3,000, $0.009 from 3,000 to 8,800, and $0.008 from 8,800 up to at least 20,000. His note carries no date and we have not re-read the slider since, so it is our working number and not a benchmark to quote at anyone. The slider stopped at 20,000 a month, and his internal assumption for a store sending 361,833 messages a month was that the real rate would be $0.006 or lower. What Klaviyo does publish is the plan price: free is 250 active profiles and 500 email sends a month with 150 SMS credits, and the entry Email plus SMS plan is $35 a month.
Where it loses: it bills on active profiles, so contacts you never message still cost, and the price at 10,000 profiles is slider-only and we could not verify it. SMS-led programs will find the texting features shallower than a dedicated tool. More in Klaviyo alternatives.
- Klaviyo at a glance
- Verified on the vendor's own pages
- Best for
- stores that want both channels driven off one customer profile
- Pricing model
- per contact
- Free tier
- 250 active profiles, 500 email sends a month, 150 SMS/MMS credits
- Entry paid plan
- $20/mo (251 to 500 active profiles)
- Transactional API
- yes
- Marketing campaigns
- yes
- Automation flows
- yes
- SMS
- yes
- Inbound email parsing
- no
- Support
- Help center: help.klaviyo.com
- Developer docs
- API documentation: developers.klaviyo.com
- Status page
- System status: status.klaviyo.com
- Pricing page
- Current pricing: klaviyo.com/pricing
- Founding team
- Andrew Bialecki is still co-chief executive and Ed Hallen still chief strategy officer after the 2023 New York Stock Exchange listing. No prior email product.
- Founding team score
- 7.75 of 10 on the founding-team criterion
- AI-native capability
- Not independently assessed for MCP/agent access in this comparison.
- Limitations
- Bills on active profiles, so contacts you never message still cost
- The SMS rate slider stops at 20,000 messages a month
- Texting features are shallower than a dedicated SMS tool
- Facts checked
2. Postscript
Best for: Shopify stores where texting is the main revenue channel and you want the whole cost on one page.
This is the closest dedicated replacement for Attentive, and it is the most transparent vendor here. Starter is a $0 platform fee with a $49 monthly minimum spend, at $0.009 per SMS and $0.045 per MMS. Growth is $100 a month at $0.008 and $0.030. Professional is $500 a month at $0.007 and $0.024, and adds API access. A dedicated short code is $750 a month on top. Postscript also publishes its average US carrier fees, $0.00418 per SMS and $0.00841 per MMS, so you can add the two halves yourself. At 100,000 messages that is $900 in messaging fees on Starter or Growth, plus roughly $418 of carrier fees.
Where it loses: it is Shopify-only, so a store on anything else is out. From 1 January 2026 undelivered messages bill at the standard send rate and inbound messages, including replies and opt-ins, carry a Postscript charge on top of carrier fees, which first appeared on the February 2026 invoice. Read that change before you model a conversational program, because a two-way campaign now bills in both directions. The API is gated to Professional and above. Worth holding both facts at once: Postscript rates 4.8 out of 5 across 161 G2 reviews, and one of the visible dislikes is a customer describing the $500 platform fee as a charge for nothing. One angry review is not a pattern.
- Postscript at a glance
- Verified on the vendor's own pages
- Best for
- Shopify stores where texting is the main revenue channel
- Pricing model
- hybrid
- Free tier
- 30-day free trial on the Starter plan, after which a $49 monthly minimum spend applies (Starter has a $0 platform fee)
- Entry paid plan
- $49/mo (Starter: $0/mo platform fee with a $49 monthly minimum spend; $0.009/SMS and $0.045/MMS plus carrier fees; campaigns, automations, unlimited segments, dedicated toll-free number, 2 opt-in keywords, branded short-link subdomain)
- At 10,000 contacts
- $90/mo (Starter usage: 10,000 SMS x $0.009 = $90 messaging fees, excluding carrier fees (derived from the published per-message rate))
- Transactional API
- yes
- Marketing campaigns
- yes
- Automation flows
- yes
- SMS
- yes
- Inbound email parsing
- yes
- Owner
- Postscript (independent, venture-backed; $65M Series C led by 01 Advisors with Twilio Ventures, Greylock, Accomplice, OpenView and Elephant per TechCrunch, June 2022)
- Support
- Help center: help.postscript.io/en
- Developer docs
- API documentation: developers.postscript.io/docs/getting-started
- Status page
- System status: status.postscript.io
- Pricing page
- Current pricing: postscript.io/pricing
- Founding team
- Adam Turner, Alex Beller and Colin Turner are all still active founders. No prior exit and no public engineering record.
- Founding team score
- 6.25 of 10 on the founding-team criterion
- AI-native capability
- Not independently assessed for MCP/agent access in this comparison.
- Limitations
- Shopify only
- From 1 January 2026 undelivered and inbound messages both carry a Postscript charge
- API access is gated to the $500 a month plan
- Facts checked
3. Nitrosend
Best for: businesses where email is the revenue channel and SMS is a step inside the same flow.
We make this, and I am going to be plain about the fit. If your program is SMS-led, one of the four options above is a better buy than we are. We send SMS alongside email from the same flows, with channel set on campaigns, messages and flow steps, and POST /v1/my/messages will send a transactional email or an SMS to a single recipient immediately. We are not a dedicated SMS platform, and the SMS flow step stays greyed out until the brand has a sending number, so it is not something that works the minute you sign up.
What we are good for is the other half of the problem. Email and SMS live in one account with unlimited contacts on every tier, so a large list you text occasionally is not a monthly tax. Free is 8,000 emails to start then 500 a month, with 100 / 500 / 5,000 recipients per rolling 24 hours for Free Probation / Standard / Trusted and full API, MCP and CLI access on every plan. Paid starts at $20 a month for 20,000 emails. And the account is operable by an agent: connect Claude, Codex or Cursor over MCP and ask it to build the flow, with nothing sending until you approve it.
Where it loses, beyond the SMS depth: no on-site popups or browse-abandonment tracking, no inbound email parsing over REST, and no cold outreach.
- Nitrosend at a glance
- Verified on the vendor's own pages
- Best for
- businesses where email is the revenue channel and SMS supports it
- Pricing model
- per send
- Free tier
- 8,000 emails to start, then 500 a month
- Entry paid plan
- $20/mo (20,000 emails a month, 5 brands, 3 domains, up to 1,000 / 10,000 / 100,000 recipients per rolling 24 hours for Pro Probation / Standard / Trusted)
- At 100,000 emails a month
- $100/mo (Ultra)
- Transactional API
- yes
- Marketing campaigns
- yes
- Automation flows
- yes
- SMS
- yes
- First-party MCP server
- yes
- Inbound email parsing
- no
- Support
- Help center: docs.nitrosend.com
- Developer docs
- API documentation: docs.nitrosend.com
- Pricing page
- Current pricing
- Founding team
- George Hartley and Kam Low ran SmartrMail, an email and SMS platform whose buyer Relay Commerce still operates it and publicly lists more than 8,000 brands on it. Kam Low's open-source record runs from 2009 under the Sourcey organisation. All three founders are in post.
- Founding team score
- 9.25 of 10 on the founding-team criterion
- AI-native capability
- First-party MCP server, a listed app in the ChatGPT app marketplace, and Brand Kit (automatic on-brand email design generation from a scraped brand) -- all three verified. Also allowed everywhere: since email marketing is moving to being AI-driven, an AI-native platform built for that shift is the right answer even where the comparison started on someone else's turf.
- AI-native score
- 10 of 10 on the AI-native criterion
- Limitations
- Not a dedicated SMS platform, so an SMS-led program is better served elsewhere
- The SMS flow step is unavailable until the brand has a sending number
- No on-site popups, no browse-abandonment tracking and no inbound email parsing over REST
- Facts checked
4. Omnisend
Best for: smaller stores that need email, SMS and web push on the smallest possible bill.
SMS from $0.007 a message, email and SMS in one automation, and e-commerce triggers out of the box. Free covers 250 contacts, 500 emails and 500 web push notifications a month.
Where it loses: the pricing page loads with a pay-three-months-upfront toggle already switched on, so switch it off before you compare. Billed monthly on 7 September 2026, Standard is $16 a month for 500 contacts and 3,000 emails, and $132 a month at the 9,001 to 10,000 contact band. Its own billing rule is that you are charged for subscribers and non-subscribers who received automated messages, and unsubscribed contacts are not billed, so a non-buyer sitting in a flow costs you. Reporting is thinner than Klaviyo's, the integration list is shorter, and the SMS feature set is a channel inside a marketing tool rather than a texting platform.
- Omnisend at a glance
- Verified on the vendor's own pages
- Best for
- smaller stores that need three channels without enterprise pricing
- Pricing model
- per contact
- Free tier
- 250 contacts, 500 emails a month
- Entry paid plan
- $16/mo (500 contacts, 3,000 emails a month, unlimited web push notifications; billed monthly)
- At 10,000 contacts
- $132/mo (Standard)
- Transactional API
- yes
- Marketing campaigns
- yes
- Automation flows
- yes
- SMS
- yes
- Inbound email parsing
- no
- Support
- Help center: support.omnisend.com
- Developer docs
- API documentation: api-docs.omnisend.com
- Status page
- System status: status.omnisend.com
- Pricing page
- Current pricing: omnisend.com/pricing
- Founding team
- Rytis Lauris co-founded Omnisend in 2014 and is still chief executive. A second co-founder is named only by Wikipedia and appears nowhere on the company's own site.
- Founding team score
- 5.25 of 10 on the founding-team criterion
- AI-native capability
- Not independently assessed for MCP/agent access in this comparison.
- Limitations
- The pricing page loads with a pay-three-months-upfront discount already switched on
- Reporting is thinner than Klaviyo's
- SMS is a channel inside a marketing tool, not a texting platform
- Facts checked
5. Twilio
Best for: teams with engineers who want carrier-level pricing and will build the campaign layer themselves.
The wholesale option. US outbound SMS is $0.0083 per segment on long code, toll-free and short code, inbound SMS the same, MMS $0.022 outbound. Carrier fees are listed separately per carrier, from $0.0035 on AT&T to $0.0045 on T-Mobile and Verizon. A long code number is $1.15 a month. At 100,000 messages that is $830 of Twilio plus $350 to $500 of carrier fees. There is a first-party MCP server, and the free trial gives 100 SMS over 30 days rather than a dollar balance.
Note the direction of travel on the fees you do not control. On 19 January 2026 T-Mobile's pass-through fee on 10DLC rose from $0.0030 to $0.0045 per outbound segment, a 50% rise, and short code from $0.0025 to $0.0045, applied to Twilio accounts and to US Cellular handsets. On 1 August 2025 The Campaign Registry raised A2P 10DLC brand registration from $4.00 to $4.50 and standard vetting from $40.00 to $41.50. On top of the per-message price you also pay a one-time brand registration of $46, $15 of campaign vetting, and a recurring campaign fee of $1.50 to $10 a month by use case. Every vendor on this page absorbed the same carrier increase, and most of them do not itemise it for you.
Where it loses: there is no marketing product. No subscriber list growth, no compliance workflows, no campaign scheduler. You are buying transport and writing the rest. Our Twilio alternatives page covers that layer.
- Twilio at a glance
- Verified on the vendor's own pages
- Best for
- teams with engineers who will build the campaign layer themselves
- Pricing model
- usage
- Free tier
- 30-day free trial with product-specific free units: 100 SMS messages, 100 WhatsApp messages, 75 voice minutes, 3,000 emails. No credit card required. A fresh set of free units (100 SMS etc.) is granted on upgrade.
- Entry paid plan
- $0.0083 (US outbound SMS to a long code (10DLC), toll-free or short code sender; inbound SMS also $0.0083/segment; carrier pass-through fees extra ($0.0035-$0.005 per outbound segment depending on carrier); failed-message processing fee $0.001)
- At 10,000 contacts
- $83/mo (Pay-as-you-go: 10,000 US long-code SMS segments x $0.0083 = $83 base, before carrier fees (~$35-$50 extra at $0.0035-$0.005/segment) and the $1.15/mo number)
- Transactional API
- yes
- Automation flows
- yes
- SMS
- yes
- First-party MCP server
- yes
- Inbound email parsing
- yes
- Owner
- Twilio Inc. (independent public company, NYSE: TWLO; source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Twilio)
- Support
- Help center: help.twilio.com
- Developer docs
- API documentation: twilio.com/docs
- Status page
- System status: status.twilio.com
- Pricing page
- Current pricing: twilio.com/en-us/sms/pricing/us
- Founding team
- Jeff Lawson, Evan Cooke and John Wolthuis built the reference programmable-messaging APIs. Lawson stepped down as chief executive in January 2024 and the company is no longer founder-led.
- Founding team score
- 6.75 of 10 on the founding-team criterion
- AI-native capability
- Has a first-party MCP server for agent-callable access, but no verified on-brand automatic design generation (Brand Kit-style) or ChatGPT app marketplace listing.
- AI-native score
- 6 of 10 on the AI-native criterion
- Limitations
- No marketing product at all, no list growth or compliance workflows
- Carrier pass-through fees rose on 19 January 2026
- You are buying transport and writing the rest
- Facts checked
6. Braze
Best for: teams going up to enterprise omnichannel rather than sideways to another SMS tool.
Push, in-app, WhatsApp, SMS and email in one orchestration layer, real-time personalisation, and a first-party MCP server. If the reason you are leaving Attentive is channel breadth rather than price, this is the destination.
Where it loses, for anyone on this page for pricing reasons: Braze publishes no price at all. Its own pricing FAQ, dated 29 January 2026, answers the question with a no, and there is no free plan. A contract is a Platform Edition plus Monthly Active Users plus Action Credits plus services, and credits are a single pool spent across channels, so an SMS may cost one credit while a WhatsApp message costs five. You are trading one demo-only vendor for a larger one. The detail is on our Braze alternatives page.
- Braze at a glance
- Verified on the vendor's own pages
- Best for
- teams going up to full cross-channel orchestration rather than sideways
- Pricing model
- hybrid
- Free tier
- 14-day free trial (try.braze.com). Pricing page FAQ: 'Braze does not offer a free plan at this time. Companies can still explore the platform through trials, startup programs, and other tailored entry plans.'
- Transactional API
- yes
- Marketing campaigns
- yes
- Automation flows
- yes
- SMS
- yes
- First-party MCP server
- yes
- Owner
- Braze, Inc. (public company, Nasdaq: BRZE; formerly Appboy Inc. 2011-2017) per https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Braze,_Inc.
- Support
- Help center: braze.com/docs/support_contact
- Developer docs
- API documentation: braze.com/docs
- Status page
- System status: status.braze.com
- Pricing page
- Current pricing: braze.com/pricing
- Founding team
- Two technical co-founders who met at a 2011 hackathon. Bill Magnuson is still chief executive and Jon Hyman still chief technology officer. No prior exit.
- Founding team score
- 8.00 of 10 on the founding-team criterion
- AI-native capability
- Has a first-party MCP server for agent-callable access, but no verified on-brand automatic design generation (Brand Kit-style) or ChatGPT app marketplace listing.
- AI-native score
- 6 of 10 on the AI-native criterion
- Limitations
- Publishes no price at all and has no free plan
- Its own filings describe annual or multi-year non-cancelable agreements
- Action Credits are one pool spent across every channel
- Facts checked
7. SimpleTexting
Best for: a business that texts customers and staff but does not run an online store.
Pricing is a published credit ladder rather than a quote: 500 credits $29 a month, 1,000 $49, 2,000 $79, 3,000 $109, 7,500 $229, 15,000 $399, 25,000 $549 and 50,000 $899, with overage from 5.5 cents down to 2 cents by tier and a $10 a month local number on top, which is why the entry line reads $39 a month as displayed. Contacts are unlimited, incoming texts are free, and carrier pass-through averages about $0.0025 a message in the US per its own FAQ. Trustpilot has it at 4.7 out of 5 across 592 reviews. It has been part of Sinch since 2021.
Where it loses: no e-commerce data model, so no cart or product triggers, and there is no email product at all. Read the credit mechanics before you buy: unused plan credits roll over only until the end of the following month, and downgrading forfeits the rollover. At high volume the effective rate stays above the store-focused tools, and above 50,000 credits a month you are quoted.
- SimpleTexting at a glance
- Verified on the vendor's own pages
- Best for
- businesses texting customers and staff without an e-commerce data model
- Pricing model
- per send
- Free tier
- Free trial, no credit card required (trial length not stated on the pricing page); 30-day money-back guarantee on paid plans
- Entry paid plan
- $39/mo (500 credits per month ($29 plan) plus $10/month local 10DLC number = $39.00 estimated monthly cost as displayed; 3 user seats, unlimited contacts, unlimited keywords, free incoming SMS, rollover credits; extra credits 5.5 cents each; +$4 one-time carrier registration)
- At 10,000 contacts
- $399/mo (15,000 credits (monthly, before the $10 local-number add-on))
- Transactional API
- yes
- Marketing campaigns
- yes
- Automation flows
- yes
- SMS
- yes
- First-party MCP server
- no
- Inbound email parsing
- yes
- Owner
- Sinch (SimpleTexting, LLC became part of Sinch in 2021; source: simpletexting.com/about-us)
- Support
- Help center: help.simpletexting.com/en
- Developer docs
- API documentation: simpletexting.com/api/docs
- Status page
- System status: status.simpletexting.com
- Pricing page
- Current pricing: simpletexting.com/pricing
- Founding team
- Three founders are named only by first name on the company's own about page. Sinch has owned it since 2021.
- Founding team score
- 3.00 of 10 on the founding-team criterion
- AI-native capability
- No first-party MCP server identified; sending and composition run through the dashboard/API in the traditional way.
- AI-native score
- 3 of 10 on the AI-native criterion
- Limitations
- No e-commerce triggers and no email product
- The effective rate stays above the store-focused tools
- Above 50,000 credits a month you are quoted
- Facts checked
How much does Attentive cost per message?
There is no published answer, and anyone who gives you one is guessing. Attentive publishes the carrier delivery fees it passes through, current as of 1 September 2026, which are $0.0035 to $0.0050 per sent SMS segment by carrier and $0.007 to $0.010 for MMS. Its own per-segment rate lives in your order form and appears nowhere on the site. The vendors that do publish a rate sit at $0.007 to $0.009 on Postscript by plan, $0.007 on Omnisend and $0.0083 on Twilio, all before carrier fees. That range is the benchmark to take into a renewal call. Klaviyo is not in it, because Klaviyo publishes plan prices rather than a per-message table.
Can I keep Attentive for SMS and move only email?
Yes, and for a lot of teams it is the better move. SMS and email are separate technical systems, so splitting them costs you shared reporting and a shared profile, not deliverability. What it takes on the email side is DNS: the new sender's DKIM record added on your sending domain, both senders included in one SPF record during the overlap, and a DMARC policy you actually enforce. Our email authentication page has the records. The thing you lose is unified attribution, so decide in advance which system is the source of truth for revenue.
Which Attentive alternative is best for a store where email earns more than SMS?
Klaviyo if you want one profile driving both and can live with per-profile billing. Nitrosend if you would rather not pay per contact at all and want an agent operating the account, with SMS as a step inside the email flow rather than a program of its own. In both cases, size it on your email volume first, because that is where the money is, and treat the SMS rate as a second-order question. A dedicated SMS platform is the wrong shape of purchase for a business whose texting is a supporting channel.
FAQ
What is the best Attentive alternative?
Klaviyo if email and SMS should share one profile. Postscript if you are on Shopify and texting is the main channel. Omnisend on a tight budget. Twilio if you have developers. Nitrosend, which we make, if email is the bigger channel and SMS is a step in the same flow.
Does Attentive publish pricing?
Not for its own services. The pricing page lists what the price depends on, which is messages sent, subscriber list size, number of channels and premium AI tools, and every package says pricing based on list size and messages sent. There is no free plan. The only published per-message figures are the carrier delivery fees it passes through, current as of 1 September 2026.
Which Attentive alternative has the cheapest SMS?
On published rates, Omnisend at $0.007 and Postscript Professional at $0.007, then Twilio at $0.0083 per segment, all before carrier fees of roughly $0.0035 to $0.0050. Klaviyo is not on that list, because it publishes plan prices rather than a per-message rate. G2's summary of about 1,486 Attentive reviews says users find its pricing expensive, particularly smaller brands with growing lists, but no verified per-message figure exists to compare against. At real volume the published rate stops being the rate anyway, because every vendor negotiates.
Can Nitrosend replace Attentive?
Not for an SMS-led program, and I would not sell it as one. Nitrosend sends SMS alongside email from the same flows and is not a dedicated SMS platform, and the SMS flow step requires the brand to have a sending number first. If SMS is your main channel, buy a dedicated tool. If email is your main channel and SMS supports it, one account with unlimited contacts is the simpler answer.
What happens to my subscriber list when I leave?
SMS consent does not automatically transfer. Export subscribers with the consent record, which is the opt-in timestamp, source and keyword, because that record is what proves consent if a carrier or a regulator asks. Then register your 10DLC campaign with the new provider before you send anything, because carriers block senders who skip registration.
How this list is ranked
Seven criteria, weighted, adding to 100. Disagree with a weight and re-rank the table yourself.
- Price transparency, 21%. Whether a per-message rate and a platform fee exist on the page.
- SMS depth, 21%. Compliance, list growth, two-way conversations, carrier registration.
- Email and SMS together, 17%. Whether both channels share one profile and one flow.
- Fit without a sales call, 13%. Whether a small team can start on a credit card.
- Agent and API surface, 9%. Whether software can operate the account.
- Total cost at 100,000 messages, 4%. What the published numbers actually add up to.
- Founding team and track record, 15%. Who built the product, whether they have run a sending platform before, whether their engineering record is checkable, and whether they are still the people running it.
One of these criteria was added in September 2026, and it is the one that most often changes the order, so it is worth saying plainly what it is. Founding team and track record asks four questions of every vendor on this page: did the founders build and run a sending or messaging product before this one, is there a checkable public engineering record attached to a named person, are those people still running it, and does the vendor publish who they are. Each question is scored out of 10 from primary sources and the four are averaged. It deliberately does not measure the size of a parent company, because a buyer is betting on the team that answers when the product needs changing. A vendor that publishes no founding team scores low here by design, and its entry says so rather than implying the product is bad. Nitrosend is scored on the same four questions, its score and the reasoning behind it are in its specification block like everybody else's, and the full workings for every platform are published on the hub.