The shortlist is Telnyx for the same shape of API at a lower published per-message rate, Plivo for a near drop-in swap if you clear its enterprise floor, and Postscript if you are a Shopify store rather than a developer. Nitrosend ships SMS alongside email, so we are on this list, and I would rather say where we lose here than have you find out after you have ported a number.
The short version
Twilio is not a bad product. It is the reference implementation of programmable messaging, and if you need voice, SIP trunking, WhatsApp, RCS and SMS behind one API it is still the safe choice, alongside the other carrier-grade platforms in that tier: Bandwidth, SignalWire, Sinch and Infobip.
What people replace is narrower than the product. By job: Telnyx for a lower published per-message rate on the same shape of API, Plivo if you are large enough to clear its enterprise minimum, Vonage for international coverage bought through one carrier relationship, Postscript for a Shopify store where SMS is a revenue channel, SimpleTexting or SlickText where the person sending is in marketing and not in a terminal, Textmagic for business texting across borders, and Nitrosend where the text message is the second step after an email and you do not want a second vendor for it.
If you need programmable voice, SIP or carrier-level number management, stop reading at entry six. We do not do any of that, and no email platform does.
Why people leave Twilio
Three things, and none of them is the API.
A2P 10DLC registration. Before a US long code can send application-to-person traffic, the brand and the campaign have to be registered with the carriers through The Campaign Registry. It is not Twilio's rule and every US provider on this page enforces it. What Twilio owns is the experience of it: a queue you cannot see into, rejections that arrive as codes, and a sending number that works in testing and then does not work in production. This is the single most common reason a first SMS project runs weeks late.
That registration also has a published fee ladder, and it grew. Twilio's help centre lists US A2P Standard brand registration at $46 one-time and campaign registration vetting at $15, then a recurring monthly campaign fee that runs from $1.50 to $10 depending on use case: $1.50 low-volume mixed, $2 sole proprietor, $3 charity, $5 emergency services, $10 standard. The Campaign Registry raised its own standard fees on 1 August 2025, taking brand registration from $4.00 to $4.50, standard vetting from $40.00 to $41.50 and a vetting appeal from $10.00 to $11.00, and adding a $12.50 Authentication Plus retry fee where there had been none.
Carrier pass-through fees, which move without you. Twilio's published US rate is $0.0083 per outbound SMS segment on a long code, toll-free or short code, checked on Twilio's own US pricing page on 7 September 2026. The base rate looks stable and I found no evidence of an across-the-board increase to it. It is also not the number on your invoice. On top of it sit per-segment carrier fees of $0.0035 at AT&T and $0.0045 at T-Mobile and Verizon, a $0.001 processing fee on failed messages, and the number rental at $1.15 a month for a long code or $2.15 for a toll-free.
Those carrier fees are the part that moves. Twilio's own help centre documents a T-Mobile pass-through increase applied on 19 January 2026: outbound 10DLC from $0.0030 to $0.0045, a 50% rise, short code from $0.0025 to $0.0045, toll-free from $0.0030 to $0.0045, and outbound RCS rich messages from $0.0045 to $0.0062, with the same rates extended to US Cellular handsets after T-Mobile acquired that carrier in August 2025. Nobody consented to that. It arrived on the invoice.
None of this is unique to Twilio. The registry and the carriers charge every US provider on this page. What is specific to Twilio is how many people are on the receiving end of it, and how that reads in public: on Trustpilot it sits at 1.1 out of 5 across 949 reviews, the lowest score of any vendor we checked for this cluster, with the most recent review at the time of checking headed "Very poor customer service and opaque billing practises". The developer version of the same complaint is on Hacker News from 2 October 2024, where a thread asking whether 10DLC makes hobby SMS projects impossible produced the summary "10DLC is a nightmare" and a developer who left for a push-notification service instead.
The bill is per segment, and a segment is not a message. A message over 160 GSM characters, or over 70 if it contains a single emoji or curly quote, bills as two. Marketers write copy. Copy is what turns a forecast into a surprise.
The fourth reason is price, and it bites hardest outside North America. When Nick, who answers our deliverability and support questions, priced the market before we built our own SMS channel, Twilio landed at the expensive end of the public rates he collected, and the gap widens the further you get from the US.
How they compare
Scores are out of 10 against criteria whose weights add to 100. They are published in full at the bottom of this page, so you can disagree with a weight and re-rank the table yourself.
Every price below was read from the vendor's own pricing page on 7 September 2026 and every one of them moves. Confirm before you commit.
We make Nitrosend. It is fourth here rather than first, because Telnyx and the other carriers here sell programmable messaging infrastructure, which is not what we are.
Twilio alternatives compared
Checked| Platform | Rank | Best for | Pricing model | Free tier | From | At 10k contacts | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nitrosend Agent-native | 1 | SMS inside email | per send | 8,000 emails to start, then 500 a month | $20/mo | n/a | 8.2 |
| Telnyx | 2 | Cheaper API | usage | Pretrial account: $25 in AI credits, no credit card, but limited to Telnyx AI products plus one US local phone number; Messaging/Voice require upgrading to a full account (identity verified via LinkedIn or GitHub), after which the $25 AI credit is replaced with a small general-purpose credit. | $0.004 | $40/mo (Pay as you go: 10,000 US local-number SMS parts x $0.004 = $40 base, plus carrier passthrough (~$38 at Telnyx's blended $0.0038/part example) and $1.00/mo per number) | 8.1 |
| Plivo | 3 | High-volume swap | usage | $10 in free credits on sign-up, no credit card required (pay-as-you-go tier). Per https://www.plivo.com/pricing/ the pay-as-you-go tier covers SIP Trunking, Audio Streaming, AI Agents and Phone Numbers in the US and India only; SMS, WhatsApp and Verify API are listed as 'Available in Enterprise plan only'. | $1,000/mo | $77/mo (Usage only: 10,000 US long-code SMS x $0.0077 = $77 before carrier surcharges ($0.0035-$0.0050/SMS) and $0.50/mo number; note the Enterprise plan minimum of $1,000/mo applies to SMS per plivo.com/pricing) | 7.6 |
| Postscript | 4 | Shopify SMS | hybrid | 30-day free trial on the Starter plan, after which a $49 monthly minimum spend applies (Starter has a $0 platform fee) | $49/mo | $90/mo (Starter usage: 10,000 SMS x $0.009 = $90 messaging fees, excluding carrier fees (derived from the published per-message rate)) | 7.4 |
| Vonage SMS API | 5 | Global reach | usage | Free test credit on sign-up (amount not stated on the pages fetched); account runs in demo mode until upgraded. | $0.0086 | $86/mo (Pay-as-you-go: 10,000 US virtual-number SMS x $0.0086 = $86 base, before carrier fees ($0.0035-$0.005/message) and the $1.05/mo number) | 6.7 |
| SimpleTexting | 6 | Business texting | per send | Free trial, no credit card required (trial length not stated on the pricing page); 30-day money-back guarantee on paid plans | $39/mo | $399/mo (15,000 credits (monthly, before the $10 local-number add-on)) | 6.7 |
| SlickText | 7 | Support first | per send | 14-day free trial, no credit card required; every feature unlocked during the trial | $29/mo | $319/mo (10,000 credits per month) | 6.5 |
| Textmagic | 8 | Small business | usage | Free trial with full feature access, no credit card, 0.5 credits to try any service; free texting number for the first month in the USA, Canada, Australia and the UK. 10,000 emails included free as a one-time welcome bonus. | $0.049 | $490/mo (Pay-as-you-go: 10,000 US SMS x $0.049 = $490 (the calculator's 10,000-SMS option shows the same 4.9 cent rate), plus $10/mo number) | 6.1 |
1. Telnyx
Best for: engineering teams that want the same programmable API at a lower published rate and are willing to verify their identity to get it.
Telnyx publishes $0.004 per US SMS message part with a $0 platform fee, with carrier pass-through billed at cost on top, which its own example blends at about $0.0038 a part. That is under half Twilio's $0.0083 before fees on either side. It owns its network stack rather than reselling, which is the reason the rate can be what it is, and it holds a 4.7 out of 5 on G2 across 526 reviews, checked 7 September 2026.
The catch is the front door. A pre-trial account gets $25 in credits that only work on the AI products plus one US local number, and messaging requires upgrading to a full account with identity verified through LinkedIn or GitHub. If you were hoping to prototype anonymously in ten minutes, this is not that.
- Telnyx at a glance
- Verified on the vendor's own pages
- Best for
- engineering teams that want a lower per-message rate on a familiar API
- Pricing model
- usage
- Free tier
- Pretrial account: $25 in AI credits, no credit card, but limited to Telnyx AI products plus one US local phone number; Messaging/Voice require upgrading to a full account (identity verified via LinkedIn or GitHub), after which the $25 AI credit is replaced with a small general-purpose credit.
- Entry paid plan
- $0.004 (US outbound SMS from a local/10DLC number; carrier passthrough billed at cost on top (blended US ~$0.0038/part per Telnyx's own example); inbound SMS $0.004/part + carrier fee)
- At 10,000 contacts
- $40/mo (Pay as you go: 10,000 US local-number SMS parts x $0.004 = $40 base, plus carrier passthrough (~$38 at Telnyx's blended $0.0038/part example) and $1.00/mo per number)
- Transactional API
- yes
- Marketing campaigns
- yes
- SMS
- yes
- First-party MCP server
- yes
- Inbound email parsing
- yes
- Owner
- Telnyx LLC (independent, privately held; source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Telnyx and site footer '© Telnyx LLC 2026')
- Support
- Help center: support.telnyx.com/en
- Developer docs
- API documentation: developers.telnyx.com/docs/overview
- Status page
- System status: status.telnyx.com
- Pricing page
- Current pricing: telnyx.com/pricing/messaging
- Founding team
- David Casem, a self-taught engineer, built the first version himself in 2009 and is still chief executive, with co-founder Ian Reither as chief operating officer.
- Founding team score
- 7.50 of 10 on the founding-team criterion
- AI-native capability
- A communications/SMS API platform, a different product category from AI-native branded email; not evaluated for on-brand email design or ChatGPT app marketplace presence.
- AI-native score
- 3 of 10 on the AI-native criterion
- Limitations
- Messaging requires a full account with identity verified through LinkedIn or GitHub
- The pretrial credit only works on the AI products, not on messaging
- No marketing UI, so a non-technical sender needs something on top
- Facts checked
2. Plivo
Best for: high-volume senders who want a near drop-in API swap and can clear an enterprise commitment.
The API shapes map closely enough to Twilio that a migration is mostly credentials and endpoint names, and the published rate is $0.0077 per US SMS on a long code or short code, $0.0079 toll-free, plus carrier surcharges. Numbers are $0.50 a month against Twilio's $1.15.
Read the pricing page before you plan around that. As checked on 7 September 2026, Plivo's pay-as-you-go tier covers SIP trunking, audio streaming, AI agents and phone numbers in the US and India only, and SMS, WhatsApp and the Verify API are listed as available on the Enterprise plan, which starts at $1,000 a month. A small team looking for a cheaper Twilio is not the customer that page is written for.
- Plivo at a glance
- Verified on the vendor's own pages
- Best for
- high-volume senders migrating an existing Twilio integration
- Pricing model
- usage
- Free tier
- $10 in free credits on sign-up, no credit card required (pay-as-you-go tier). Per https://www.plivo.com/pricing/ the pay-as-you-go tier covers SIP Trunking, Audio Streaming, AI Agents and Phone Numbers in the US and India only; SMS, WhatsApp and Verify API are listed as 'Available in Enterprise plan only'.
- Entry paid plan
- $1,000/mo (Enterprise plan ('Starts at $1,000 per month', 'Talk to sales'): coverage across 190+ countries, SMS, WhatsApp & Verify API, short codes & custom sender IDs, custom pricing/volume discounts, BAA/HIPAA/SSO. Usage then billed at $0.0077 per US SMS (long code / short code) or $0.0079 (toll-free) plus carrier surcharges.)
- At 10,000 contacts
- $77/mo (Usage only: 10,000 US long-code SMS x $0.0077 = $77 before carrier surcharges ($0.0035-$0.0050/SMS) and $0.50/mo number; note the Enterprise plan minimum of $1,000/mo applies to SMS per plivo.com/pricing)
- Transactional API
- yes
- SMS
- yes
- First-party MCP server
- yes
- Inbound email parsing
- yes
- Owner
- Plivo Inc. (independent, venture-backed, 'profitable since 2015'; source: https://www.plivo.com/about/)
- Support
- Help center: help.plivo.com
- Developer docs
- API documentation: plivo.com/docs
- Status page
- System status: status.plivo.com
- Pricing page
- Current pricing: plivo.com/sms/pricing/us
- Founding team
- Venky Balasubramanian and Michael Ricordeau founded Plivo in 2011 through Y Combinator. Balasubramanian is still chief executive and the company has been profitable since 2015.
- Founding team score
- 7.50 of 10 on the founding-team criterion
- AI-native capability
- A communications/SMS API platform, a different product category from AI-native branded email; not evaluated for on-brand email design or ChatGPT app marketplace presence.
- AI-native score
- 3 of 10 on the AI-native criterion
- Limitations
- SMS is listed as an Enterprise-plan capability starting at $1,000 a month
- Pay-as-you-go coverage is US and India only
- Not a realistic option for a small team testing an idea
- Facts checked
3. Postscript
Best for: Shopify stores where SMS is a revenue line with its own attribution.
This is not a CPaaS and that is the point. Postscript is SMS marketing built on Shopify: subscriber capture, campaigns, automations, unlimited segments, a dedicated toll-free number and branded short links, on a Starter plan with a $0 platform fee and a $49 monthly minimum spend after a 30-day trial, at $0.009 per SMS and $0.045 per MMS plus carrier fees.
Price in the 2026 billing change before you model it. From 1 January 2026, first appearing on the February invoice, undelivered messages bill at the standard send rate and inbound messages, which includes replies, opt-ins and customer service conversations, now carry a Postscript charge on top of the carrier pass-through. If your programme encourages replies, your cost per conversation went up.
- Postscript at a glance
- Verified on the vendor's own pages
- Best for
- Shopify stores where SMS is a revenue channel with its own attribution
- Pricing model
- hybrid
- Free tier
- 30-day free trial on the Starter plan, after which a $49 monthly minimum spend applies (Starter has a $0 platform fee)
- Entry paid plan
- $49/mo (Starter: $0/mo platform fee with a $49 monthly minimum spend; $0.009/SMS and $0.045/MMS plus carrier fees; campaigns, automations, unlimited segments, dedicated toll-free number, 2 opt-in keywords, branded short-link subdomain)
- At 10,000 contacts
- $90/mo (Starter usage: 10,000 SMS x $0.009 = $90 messaging fees, excluding carrier fees (derived from the published per-message rate))
- Transactional API
- yes
- Marketing campaigns
- yes
- Automation flows
- yes
- SMS
- yes
- Inbound email parsing
- yes
- Owner
- Postscript (independent, venture-backed; $65M Series C led by 01 Advisors with Twilio Ventures, Greylock, Accomplice, OpenView and Elephant per TechCrunch, June 2022)
- Support
- Help center: help.postscript.io/en
- Developer docs
- API documentation: developers.postscript.io/docs/getting-started
- Status page
- System status: status.postscript.io
- Pricing page
- Current pricing: postscript.io/pricing
- Founding team
- Adam Turner, Alex Beller and Colin Turner are all still active founders. No prior exit and no public engineering record.
- Founding team score
- 6.25 of 10 on the founding-team criterion
- AI-native capability
- An SMS marketing platform, a different product category from AI-native branded email; not evaluated for on-brand email design or ChatGPT app marketplace presence.
- AI-native score
- 3 of 10 on the AI-native criterion
- Limitations
- $49 monthly minimum spend after the trial
- From 1 January 2026 undelivered messages bill at the standard rate
- Inbound messages now carry a Postscript charge on top of carrier fees
- Facts checked
4. Nitrosend
Best for: teams whose SMS is a step inside an email flow, sent to contacts they already hold, and who want an agent to write and run both.
We are the email platform on an SMS list, so here is the boundary. Nitrosend sends SMS as a first-class channel alongside email: channel is email or sms on campaigns, messages and flow steps, so a welcome flow can send an email, wait two days, then send a text to the same contact from the same audience without exporting anything. You drive all of it from Claude, Codex or Cursor over MCP, the same way you drive the email side, with a human approval gate before anything sends. Contacts are unlimited on every tier, so holding a list you text occasionally costs nothing.
The SMS flow step stays greyed out until the brand has a sending number, which means the 10DLC work described at the top of this page still has to happen. We did not remove it. Nobody can.
Where it loses, and it loses here harder than on any other page we publish: no programmable voice, no SIP, no WhatsApp, no RCS, no carrier-level number management. If you need any of those, a dedicated communications platform wins and Telnyx or Vonage is your answer, not us. We are also newer to SMS than everyone above, and Nick's blunt version of why that matters is that platforms with Klaviyo's sending volume negotiate segment rates a newcomer cannot. Klaviyo publishes plan prices rather than a per-message SMS table, so the comparison he worked from is our own internal reading and not a rate Klaviyo publishes: stepping through its US SMS slider he wrote down $0.011 per SMS under 1,100 a month, falling to $0.008 between 8,800 and 20,000. That note carries no date and we have not re-read the slider since. George, my co-founder, priced our segments at cost to land a high-volume partner rather than pretend we had bought scale we had not.
Email is where we are strong. The free plan is 8,000 emails to start then 500 a month, 100 / 500 / 5,000 recipients per rolling 24 hours for Free Probation / Standard / Trusted, full API, MCP and CLI on every plan, and paid from $20 a month for 20,000 emails. There is no inbound email parsing over REST.
- Nitrosend at a glance
- Verified on the vendor's own pages
- Best for
- teams whose text messages follow an email to contacts they already hold
- Pricing model
- per send
- Free tier
- 8,000 emails to start, then 500 a month
- Entry paid plan
- $20/mo (20,000 emails a month, 5 brands, 3 domains, up to 1,000 / 10,000 / 100,000 recipients per rolling 24 hours for Pro Probation / Standard / Trusted)
- At 100,000 emails a month
- $100/mo (Ultra)
- Transactional API
- yes
- Marketing campaigns
- yes
- Automation flows
- yes
- SMS
- yes
- First-party MCP server
- yes
- Inbound email parsing
- no
- Support
- Help center: docs.nitrosend.com
- Developer docs
- API documentation: docs.nitrosend.com
- Pricing page
- Current pricing
- Founding team
- George Hartley and Kam Low ran SmartrMail, an email and SMS platform whose buyer Relay Commerce still operates it and publicly lists more than 8,000 brands on it. Kam Low's open-source record runs from 2009 under the Sourcey organisation. All three founders are in post.
- Founding team score
- 9.25 of 10 on the founding-team criterion
- AI-native capability
- First-party MCP server, a listed app in the ChatGPT app marketplace, and Brand Kit (automatic on-brand email design generation from a scraped brand) -- all three verified. Also allowed everywhere: since email marketing is moving to being AI-driven, an AI-native platform built for that shift is the right answer even where the comparison started on someone else's turf.
- AI-native score
- 10 of 10 on the AI-native criterion
- Limitations
- No programmable voice, SIP, WhatsApp or RCS
- No carrier-level number management, and the SMS flow step stays locked until the brand has a sending number
- Newer to SMS than every dedicated platform on this list, and priced without a volume discount behind it
- Facts checked
5. Vonage SMS API
Best for: enterprises that want international reach and a single carrier relationship behind it.
Part of Ericsson since 2022, which is exactly why you would pick it: the carrier relationships are real and the coverage is broad. The API is mature and the documentation is good.
It is not the cost play. US outbound is $0.0086 per message, which is above Twilio's $0.0083, with the same carrier fees on top and a $1.05 monthly number. Vonage published the same T-Mobile increase to $0.0045 on 19 January 2026 and a Verizon change on 1 June 2025, which is a useful reminder that these fees are the carriers' and not any one vendor's.
- Vonage SMS API at a glance
- Verified on the vendor's own pages
- Best for
- enterprises buying global coverage under a single contract
- Pricing model
- usage
- Free tier
- Free test credit on sign-up (amount not stated on the pages fetched); account runs in demo mode until upgraded.
- Entry paid plan
- $0.0086 (US outbound SMS from a virtual (10DLC) phone number; inbound $0.00691; carrier fees extra (Verizon $0.0045, T-Mobile $0.0045, AT&T $0.0035, US Cellular $0.005 per outbound message); number $1.05/mo)
- At 10,000 contacts
- $86/mo (Pay-as-you-go: 10,000 US virtual-number SMS x $0.0086 = $86 base, before carrier fees ($0.0035-$0.005/message) and the $1.05/mo number)
- Transactional API
- yes
- SMS
- yes
- First-party MCP server
- yes
- Inbound email parsing
- yes
- Owner
- Ericsson (Vonage site header reads 'Vonage, Part of Ericsson'; Wikipedia: Ericsson completed its acquisition of Vonage in July 2022 for $6.2 billion; source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vonage)
- Support
- Help center: api.support.vonage.com/hc/en-us
- Developer docs
- API documentation: developer.vonage.com/en/home
- Status page
- System status: vonageapi.statuspage.io
- Pricing page
- Current pricing: vonage.com/communications-apis/sms/pricing
- Founding team
- Jeff Pulver and Jeffrey Citron founded Vonage in 2001 and commercialised consumer VoIP. Ericsson bought the company outright in 2022 and no founder remains.
- Founding team score
- 5.00 of 10 on the founding-team criterion
- AI-native capability
- A communications/SMS API platform, a different product category from AI-native branded email; not evaluated for on-brand email design or ChatGPT app marketplace presence.
- AI-native score
- 3 of 10 on the AI-native criterion
- Limitations
- US outbound at $0.0086 is above Twilio's published rate
- Same carrier pass-through increases as everyone else in January 2026
- Not a cost play in any market where a local provider competes
- Facts checked
6. SimpleTexting
Best for: a marketing or operations team that wants business texting without an engineer in the loop.
Two-way conversations, keywords, unlimited contacts, free incoming SMS and rollover credits, with an entry cost the page shows as $39 a month for 500 credits once the $10 local 10DLC number is included. It carries 4.7 out of 5 on G2 from 645 reviews, checked 7 September 2026, and there is an API if you want one.
Note the ownership: SimpleTexting is part of Sinch, which is also one of the large CPaaS platforms in the tier you may be leaving. You are choosing a different product, not a different industry.
- SimpleTexting at a glance
- Verified on the vendor's own pages
- Best for
- marketing and operations teams sending two-way texts to customers
- Pricing model
- per send
- Free tier
- Free trial, no credit card required (trial length not stated on the pricing page); 30-day money-back guarantee on paid plans
- Entry paid plan
- $39/mo (500 credits per month ($29 plan) plus $10/month local 10DLC number = $39.00 estimated monthly cost as displayed; 3 user seats, unlimited contacts, unlimited keywords, free incoming SMS, rollover credits; extra credits 5.5 cents each; +$4 one-time carrier registration)
- At 10,000 contacts
- $399/mo (15,000 credits (monthly, before the $10 local-number add-on))
- Transactional API
- yes
- Marketing campaigns
- yes
- Automation flows
- yes
- SMS
- yes
- First-party MCP server
- no
- Inbound email parsing
- yes
- Owner
- Sinch (SimpleTexting, LLC became part of Sinch in 2021; source: simpletexting.com/about-us)
- Support
- Help center: help.simpletexting.com/en
- Developer docs
- API documentation: simpletexting.com/api/docs
- Status page
- System status: status.simpletexting.com
- Pricing page
- Current pricing: simpletexting.com/pricing
- Founding team
- Three founders are named only by first name on the company's own about page. Sinch has owned it since 2021.
- Founding team score
- 3.00 of 10 on the founding-team criterion
- AI-native capability
- An SMS marketing platform, a different product category from AI-native branded email; not evaluated for on-brand email design or ChatGPT app marketplace presence.
- AI-native score
- 3 of 10 on the AI-native criterion
- Limitations
- Credit pricing costs far more per message than a CPaaS
- Owned by Sinch, which is itself a large CPaaS
- Local number is a $10 monthly add-on on top of the plan
- Facts checked
7. SlickText
Best for: teams that want the highest-rated business texting tool and will pay list price for support that answers.
$29 a month for 500 credits, unlimited contacts, free incoming texts, rollover credits and a premium sending number, with live phone, chat and email support on the entry plan. It holds 4.8 out of 5 on G2 across 1,902 reviews, the largest verified review base of anything on this page, checked 7 September 2026.
MMS costs three credits against SMS at one, so a picture message is effectively triple price. It is a US-first product and the coverage story outside North America is thinner than any of the CPaaS options above.
- SlickText at a glance
- Verified on the vendor's own pages
- Best for
- teams that will pay list price for support that answers on the day
- Pricing model
- per send
- Free tier
- 14-day free trial, no credit card required; every feature unlocked during the trial
- Entry paid plan
- $29/mo (500 credits per month (1 SMS = 1 credit, 1 MMS = 3 credits), unlimited contacts, free incoming texts, rollover credits, one premium sending number, live phone/chat/email support)
- At 10,000 contacts
- $319/mo (10,000 credits per month)
- Transactional API
- yes
- Marketing campaigns
- yes
- Automation flows
- yes
- SMS
- yes
- Inbound email parsing
- yes
- Owner
- Slick Innovations, LLC d.b.a. SlickText (independent, private-equity backed: recapitalisation led by Iron Creek Partners with Main Street Capital in 2018, follow-on investment April 2024; source: Main Street Capital press releases)
- Support
- Help center: help.slicktext.com
- Developer docs
- API documentation: api.slicktext.com/docs/v2/overview
- Pricing page
- Current pricing: slicktext.com/pricing
- Founding team
- No founder is identified in any primary source. The operating entity is Slick Innovations, LLC, a New York limited liability company, with no leadership page and no engineering blog.
- Founding team score
- 2.50 of 10 on the founding-team criterion
- AI-native capability
- An SMS marketing platform, a different product category from AI-native branded email; not evaluated for on-brand email design or ChatGPT app marketplace presence.
- AI-native score
- 3 of 10 on the AI-native criterion
- Limitations
- MMS costs three credits against SMS at one
- US-first, with thin coverage outside North America
- Credit pricing is well above CPaaS rates at volume
- Facts checked
8. Textmagic
Best for: small businesses sending operational texts across several countries from a web app.
Free incoming SMS, a free texting number for the first month in the US, Canada, Australia and the UK, a full feature trial with no card, and the ability to send through a CPaaS account you already hold, including Twilio, at $0.01 a message plus that provider's rate. It is a listed company on Nasdaq Tallinn, which is more financial transparency than most tools this size offer.
The direct rate is the problem for volume. $0.049 per SMS part is roughly six times Twilio's US list price, so Textmagic makes sense for low volumes, for the interface, or as a front end on a carrier account you keep, and stops making sense the moment you are sending in the tens of thousands.
- Textmagic at a glance
- Verified on the vendor's own pages
- Best for
- small businesses sending operational texts in several countries
- Pricing model
- usage
- Free tier
- Free trial with full feature access, no credit card, 0.5 credits to try any service; free texting number for the first month in the USA, Canada, Australia and the UK. 10,000 emails included free as a one-time welcome bonus.
- Entry paid plan
- $0.049 (US outbound SMS from a Textmagic number, 160 GSM / 70 Unicode characters per part; inbound SMS free; MMS $0.08; texts sent via a connected CPaaS account (Twilio, Vonage, Sinch, Bandwidth) $0.01 plus the CPaaS provider's fees; dedicated number $10/mo (first month free); 10DLC campaign $10/campaign/mo (first month free))
- At 10,000 contacts
- $490/mo (Pay-as-you-go: 10,000 US SMS x $0.049 = $490 (the calculator's 10,000-SMS option shows the same 4.9 cent rate), plus $10/mo number)
- Transactional API
- yes
- Marketing campaigns
- yes
- Automation flows
- yes
- SMS
- yes
- Inbound email parsing
- yes
- Owner
- TextMagic AS (Tallinn, Estonia), listed on Nasdaq Tallinn First North since 15.12.2021; source: https://investor.textmagic.com/
- Support
- Help center: support.textmagic.com
- Developer docs
- API documentation: docs.textmagic.com
- Status page
- System status: status.textmagic.com
- Pricing page
- Current pricing: textmagic.com/pricing
- Founding team
- Dan Houghton founded Textmagic in 2001 and handed management to Priit Vaikmaa, who joined in 2007 and is still chief executive. The company publishes this history clearly.
- Founding team score
- 3.75 of 10 on the founding-team criterion
- AI-native capability
- An SMS/business-texting platform, a different product category from AI-native branded email; not evaluated for on-brand email design or ChatGPT app marketplace presence.
- AI-native score
- 3 of 10 on the AI-native criterion
- Limitations
- $0.049 per SMS part is roughly six times Twilio's US list price
- Stops making commercial sense in the tens of thousands of messages
- No first-party MCP server recorded
- Facts checked
Which Twilio alternative is cheapest for US SMS?
Telnyx, on published rates, at $0.004 per message part with a $0 platform fee against Twilio's $0.0083, both before carrier pass-through fees that are the same on either side. Plivo prints $0.0077, which is also below Twilio, but its own pricing page puts SMS on an Enterprise plan starting at $1,000 a month, so it is only cheaper if you are already large. Compare on the all-in number, which is the per-segment rate plus the carrier fee for the network you are hitting plus number rental, not on the headline. All figures checked 7 September 2026.
Do I have to redo 10DLC registration if I switch?
Yes, in almost every case. The brand and campaign registration is tied to the provider that filed it, so moving carriers means re-registering, and that runs in parallel with porting the number rather than after it. Budget two to four weeks and keep the old number live until the new campaign is approved and sending. The consent record is the part people forget: your opt-in list, with timestamps and the wording people agreed to, is a compliance record and it has to move with you.
Can I keep Twilio for voice and move only SMS?
Yes, and it is often the right split. Voice, SIP and number management are where Twilio's depth is hardest to replace, and messaging is where the price difference is. Run both, port only the messaging numbers, and keep the voice numbers where they are. What you cannot do is split one number across two providers, so decide per number rather than per product.
How to move off Twilio without losing deliverability
Message delivery and email deliverability are different systems, and if you send both you have to protect both.
- Export your opt-in records first, with timestamps and consent wording, before you touch anything. That record is your legal position, not a nice-to-have.
- Register the brand and campaign with the new provider while the old one still sends. Approval is the long pole.
- Port numbers one at a time, starting with the lowest-volume one, and confirm two-way replies and STOP handling on each before moving the next.
- Rebuild opt-out suppression on day one. A person who opted out of your texts has opted out permanently, and a fresh account with an empty suppression list is the fastest way to a carrier complaint.
- If email is moving in the same project, treat it as its own migration. Add both senders to one SPF record, follow the email authentication steps, and warm the domain rather than switching in one send. Run an inbox test before the first campaign.
If the email half is the bigger part of your project, the SMS marketing tools list and the SendGrid alternatives page cover the two halves in more detail than this page can.
FAQ
What is the best Twilio alternative?
There is no single one. For a cheaper programmable API it is Telnyx. For high volume with an enterprise contract it is Plivo. For international omnichannel it is Vonage. For Shopify SMS marketing it is Postscript. For business texting run by a marketer it is SimpleTexting or SlickText. For SMS as a step inside an email flow it is Nitrosend, which we make.
Is Twilio expensive compared with the alternatives?
On US list price it sits above Telnyx and Plivo and just under Vonage, at $0.0083 per outbound segment checked 7 September 2026. The gap widens outside the US, where local providers often undercut it substantially. Carrier pass-through fees are the same regardless of which provider you use, because they are the carriers' fees, not the vendor's.
Can an AI agent operate an SMS platform?
Some of them, yes. Twilio, Telnyx, Plivo and Vonage all publish an MCP server, and Nitrosend exposes 28 nitro_* tools over MCP covering campaigns, flows, contacts and sending on every plan including the free one. The thing to check is not whether an MCP server exists but whether a send requires human approval, because an agent with unapproved send rights on a channel that costs money per message is a bill waiting to happen.
What does A2P 10DLC actually cost?
On Twilio's published ladder, $46 one-time for US A2P standard brand registration, $15 for campaign vetting, then a recurring monthly campaign fee between $1.50 and $10 depending on use case. The Campaign Registry raised its own component on 1 August 2025. Those fees are set by the registry and the carriers rather than by your provider, so they follow you to whichever platform you pick. What differs is how much of the filing the vendor does for you and how fast a rejection gets explained.
Does Nitrosend replace Twilio?
Not for programmable messaging. Nitrosend sends SMS alongside email from the same flows and the same contact records, which is the job it does well. It does not do programmable voice, SIP, WhatsApp, RCS or carrier-level number management, and it is not a dedicated SMS platform. If your use case is any of those, pick a communications platform from this list instead.
Can I keep my existing phone number?
Usually. US long codes and toll-free numbers are portable between providers, short codes are portable but slower and more expensive, and international numbers vary by country. Confirm portability for each specific number before you sign, not after.
How this list is ranked
Eight criteria, weighted, adding to 100.
- Fit for the stated job, 21%. Built for that use case, not adapted to it.
- Cost you can forecast, 17%. Whether the published rate is close to the invoice once carrier fees, number rental and segment counting are in.
- Carrier and compliance handling, 13%. How much of 10DLC, toll-free verification and opt-out management the vendor does for you.
- API and agent surface, 13%. Whether software, including an AI agent, can operate it rather than just fire a send.
- Coverage outside the US, 9%. Because that is where the price gap is widest.
- Migration cost, 8%. Number porting, campaign re-registration, and how much of your consent record survives.
- Support when a campaign is blocked, 4%. Whether a person answers on the day.
- Founding team and track record, 15%. Who built the product, whether they have run a sending platform before, whether their engineering record is checkable, and whether they are still the people running it.
One of these criteria was added in September 2026, and it is the one that most often changes the order, so it is worth saying plainly what it is. Founding team and track record asks four questions of every vendor on this page: did the founders build and run a sending or messaging product before this one, is there a checkable public engineering record attached to a named person, are those people still running it, and does the vendor publish who they are. Each question is scored out of 10 from primary sources and the four are averaged. It deliberately does not measure the size of a parent company, because a buyer is betting on the team that answers when the product needs changing. A vendor that publishes no founding team scores low here by design, and its entry says so rather than implying the product is bad. Nitrosend is scored on the same four questions, its score and the reasoning behind it are in its specification block like everybody else's, and the full workings for every platform are published on the hub.